Tags

,

If we’re defining favorite books by ones that you never tire of reading, mine would have to be Jean Auel’s Valley of the Horses (Earth’s Children #2).

While I’m in the middle of quite a few reads (J.D. Salinger’s Nine Stories, Finn Mac Cool by Morgan Llywelyn, and Book of Life by Deborah Harkness to name a few) I’m actively reading this one. Rereading, rather. I’ve read this series since I was a preteen and found Mammoth Hunters hidden in a nook on my parent’s shelves. (Disclaimer: There is some pretty graphic sex in these books and probably not something you want to hand to your preteen… I was a voracious reader and my parents were unable to keep this book from me once I discovered it.)

We were living in a house at the time where my father had built bookshelves around the entire place. The hallways, bedrooms, and bathrooms were all lined with bookshelves on the wall and all of them were stuffed to the gills with books. I found this one tucked away and just loved it. Over the years I lost track of it but found it again years later. I was delighted to find out that it was part of a series and began from the beginning. Of all the books in the series, Valley of the Horses became my absolute favorite read.

Some books have memories tied to them. For me, for this book, there is no such thing. I’ve read it so very many times over my life that I’ve completely destroyed two copies of it and am now on my third. There is no one memory that I can associate with this book, but a myriad of feelings that I had while reading it at different times in my life.

This book will always have a place in my heart and as such, on my shelf. I highly recommend reading the series if you haven’t yet. Fantastic historical fiction.

