Tags

, ,

I’m really regretting not participating in the 48 hour book challenge (and am about to go do the rounds visiting blogs that are) but I’m super glad that I went and painted faces at DPL. I spent the majority of the time painting as fast as I could as the line was out the door but remembered to snap pics of the last couple patrons I painted. Of course, I got permission from their lovely mamas to use their pics. ❤

blue face paint pink face paint

 

These girls were my two last to get painted. I admit that I took a bit longer on them than I did for some of the children as they waited for a LONG time for me to get to them. The first girl held so super still, even when I was breathing my coffee breath straight in her face, I almost forgot I was painting a child instead of a canvas. The second girl waited for about 30 minutes and when it was suggested that she go to the stencil side of the painting table protests came from both her and her parents that ‘it’d be worth it’ to wait for me. Of course, I had to make sure that it was.

All in all, it was a pretty great day. My chits crashed out after the party and I was afraid their snores would bother the other patrons as I sat in a comfy chair and read. Luckily, no one seemed to mind and I passed a couple hours browsing the stacks and then parked in an overstuffed chair reading as my chits curled up in bean bag chairs at my feet. All in all, it was a great way to spend a Saturday.

By the time we got home, oldest chit had a fever but as he was attacked by fire ants at one point, I think that was the issue. Yet and still, the night was passed checking his fever and giving him Tylenol. Today he’s bounding about, better than ever, so all is good.

Off to cheer from the sidelines for the Mother Reader 48 Hour Book Challenge participants!

