Tags

, , , , , , , ,

… What I really mean is a week or two. Just to clarify. So without any further ado:

Purple Scrunched Headband

As to the purse, no pics yet (and there a long, boring story behind that). Tonight I’m working on finishing up a pair of fingerless gloves. I won’t make you wait so long for a pic of those, I promise.

Pinky promise, even.

I’m currently in the middle of a few books (when am I not?) but the one that has caught my attention and roped me into its world is Fern Michaels’ Desperate Measures.

 

I don’t know if it is the quaint writing, the seemingly throwback style (this reminds me of when I was a teen working in a library and hiding in the shelves to read after racing through all of my work), or what exactly it is but I am absolutely riveted by this book. I was loathe to put it down in order to get to work this morning and even now, when I know I must finish this post and then get to work crocheting, I am itching to pick it back up and dive head first back into the fairy tale world that Michaels has created. Don’t get me wrong, it isn’t fairy tale in the sense of dragons and so on (though that is my usual fare) but instead in the classic ‘rags to riches’ type of way. Worth a look anyway.

I don’t read the Goodreads reviews prior to finishing a book (and recommend that you don’t either as you may very well be spoiled) but I’m willing to bet there will be a lot of people lamenting that the characters are blind to what’s in front of them, yada yada. However, while it is beyond clear to me that yes, they’re being blind, I can also see how this could play out, having oft played the naive one myself.

Remember folks, the weekend after next is Mother Reader’s 48 Hour Book Challenge!

I’m not committing a full 48 this year as I have other commitments (I’m still unclear how it is that the world doesn’t stop turning when a book challenge approaches) but I will be getting in at least 12 so that I may say I participated! You should check it out!

