Tags

,

It is that time of year again… Time for me to forgo sleep, the outside world, and even showers (though come to think of it, it is likely a good idea to stay in when showers are being skipped). Time to bunker down with books, caffeine, snacks, books, pillows, caffeine… Oh, you noticed a recurring theme there? That’s right, books and caffeine are on the menu.

So June 8 – 10th, I’ll have my head buried in the figurative sand (and the closer I get to 48 hours with no sleep, the more that reference seems realistically accurate). I haven’t decided if I’ll begin on Friday or Saturday but I do know that once again I’ll be doing the challenge with my sister in tow. I’m still trying to convince her to start a blog of her very own. Coffee and energy drinks (Rip It! is cheap and works well to counteract my built up tolerance levels) are the first thing I’m laying in, I’ll start stockpiling next week. As for books, here’s my (subject to change at whim, in no order but by which they caught my eye on the shelf) list of hopefuls:

  1. Stolen into Slavery by Judith and Dennis Fradin
  2. Wither by Lauren Destefano
  3. Not a Genuine Black Man by Brian Copeland
  4. Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose
  5. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White
  6. Confessions of a High School Word Nerd
  7. Briar Rose by Jane Yolen
  8. The Complete Poems of Emily Dickinson
  9. Corsets & Clockwork
  10. The Yellow House by Patricia Falvey
  11. Can’t Stop Won’t Stop by Jeff Chang
  12. Kissing the Witch by Emma Donoghue
  13. Part Wild by Ceiridwen Terrill
  14. Daughters of the Witching Hill by Mary Sharratt
  15. Little Red Riding Hood Uncloaked
  16. Entwined by Heather Dixon
  17. The Big Payback by Dan Charnas
  18. I Live in the Future and Here’s How it Works by Nick Bilton
  19. The Heretic Queen by Michelle Moran
  20. American Heiress by Daisy Goodwin

I have yet to decide on my audio book (I’ve ordered a couple from the library, we’ll see what arrives in time) but as I learned last year, I am going to need it to get through those mind-numbing crashes where I can no longer see my fingers turn the page much less the words themselves. And of course, now that I have wrote down my reading list my fingers are itching to pick a couple of them up and get to reading. Additionally, I have quite a few books requested so we’ll see what comes in that I don’t read prior to the challenge.

