Tags

, , ,

Wrong link in the last post. Click the pic for the right one.

I’m going for the Crone level with 20 books.

I’m in the process of collecting books for this challenge. Goodreads and Shelfari’s lists are my main inspiration. Plus wandering around the bookstore picking up books that look interesting (I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’ll proudly judge a book by its cover any day). The following list is (as always) subject to change at my whim.

Updated 5/14/12 Yep, that list changed drastically. For now I’ll leave the originals in case I’m looking for inspiration and want to get back to them later. I’ve also upgraded from Mother to Crone level.

  1. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness (scheduled release June 7, 2012) The sequel to A Discovery of Witches, I’ve been waiting for this sequel since finishing the last page of the first book.
  2. Witch & Wizard by James Patterson Not normally a Patterson reader, this book was brought to my attention by my mom. She seemed embarrassed by the choice when I saw her reading it, so I’m figuring it might be right up my alley.
  3. Wicked by Gregory Maguire This book has been sitting on my shelf for at least a year now, probably closer to two or three. I stopped and started it, only to pick up another Maguire read which I thoroughly enjoyed. I have to give it another shot based purely on the fact that it was a book I borrowed from a coworker and didn’t get a chance to return prior to losing contact.
  4. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins Found on a Shelfari tag list.
  5. The Witching Hour by Anne Rice Another Shelfari tag list book.
  6. The Summoning by Kelley Armstrong Ditto.
  7. Witch Child by Celia Rees Goodreads list suggestion.
  8. Magyk by Angie Sage Goodreads list contender.
  9. Book of Shadows by Cate Tiernan A Goodreads list book that seems to be one of the “you’ll love it or hate it” variety. Here’s hoping I love it. Yep, I loved it.
  10. The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley I’ve always loved the world of King Arthur. It will be interesting to read it from the female perspective.
  11. A Nameless Witch by A. Lee Martinez I’m loving the whole fairytale resurrection thing. I’ve always loved tales of magic, faeries, and unicorns and now that it is popular, I can just gorge myself on the genre. 
  12. Witch Song by Amber Argyle Goodreads list suggestion.
  13. Grave Dance by Kaylana Price
  14. Urban Shaman by C.E. Murphy I mainly picked this one because I was looking for something interesting to read for the challenge. I’m still slogging through the series as I like the overall premise, it just drags at times. 
  15. The Coven by Cate Tiernan
  16. Blood Witch by Cate Tiernan
  17. Dark Magick by Cate Tiernan
  18. Awakening by Cate Tiernan
  19. Spellbound by Cate Tiernan
  20. 666 Park Avenue by Gabriella Pierce
  21. Hounded by Kevin Hearne The main character would take a mighty offense at being included in a list about witches and witchcraft but at the end of the day, I’m going to lump druids right in that mix.
  22. Hexed by Kevin Hearne
  23. Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood
  24. Thunderbird Falls by C.E. Murphy
  25. Hammered by Kevin Hearne

That’s all I’ll commit to right now. My local library just might have to build a “hold” bookshelf for me alone. Speaking of bookshelves… I need to travel to IKEA or something as I have officially run out of space (even after my latest book purge). I think if I read myself of my nightstand (which only serves as a holder for books anyhow) I can fit in another bookcase. I may eventually need to buy a house if for nothing else, the space for books.

