Tags

Well, I’m finished!

I still can’t believe that I fell asleep, but I’m no longer pissed at myself. After all, there is always next year. I didn’t finish “The Winter Sea” by Susanna Kearsley, I’m only on page 360. But it is a good story that I intend to finish soon.

After talking about it with my sister, I determined my problem was the way I used the audio book. It was originally intended to play during any unavoidable cooking or necessary coffee making. But last night, I was so tired and having irritated my eyes, I used the audio book in the middle of the night. Next year, that is a big no. If my sister falls asleep next year I’m going to shake her awake (she was highly offended that I didn’t try harder to wake her) and we’ll go read outside or switch to the dining room table or some such. Because next year (you knew this was coming) I will not fall asleep.

So, final stats…

Unfinished:  (2) “The Winter Sea” (p. 360) by Susanna Kearsley, “Candide” (beginning of disc 2) by Voltaire

Books read: (8) “Changeless”, “Blameless”, “I Am Nujood”, “Split”, “Beast”, “Three Days”, “Sirena”, “The Adoration of Jenna Fox”

Time began: 1:45 p.m. 6/3/11

Time now: 1:45 p.m. 6/5/11

Time spent reading: 41 hours, 10 minutes

Time spent blogging: 3 hours, 50 minutes

Total time reading/blogging: 45 hours

Total time spent not reading/blogging: 3 hours

Page count: 2464 (via LibrayThing)

So, not a winning time, surely, as last year there were three (if memory serves me correctly) that came in at a full 48 hours (which reminds me, I must visit their blogs to find out what they did to evade sleep). But once again I had a lot of fun and already can’t wait until next year!

I’ll post a more concise post, with any reviews I’ve forgotten (hopefully I’ve recorded all the books correctly, I’ve been copying/pasting the currently reading, etc. so as to avoid the messiness of last year when I’d leave things out in my deprived state), and to elaborate, as you know I am wont to do. But now there is a life put on hold that is calling me, and it is refusing me even the simple pleasure of a nap. The outside world is unfortunately not as witty, warm, or understanding as the comfort of a book.

By the way, my sister completed an amazing 43 hours!! She only got two more hours of sleep than I did (bad, bad sister for not waking her up!) and got through 9 books, with her last being half finished at the completion time (which she is, by the way, still sitting on my couch reading).

And please don’t forget to check out the Finish Line at MotherReader for the 48 Hour Book Challenge!!

