Tags

My own body betrayed me this morning. Sometime after two a.m. my sister dozed off. She’d been dozing and jumping awake for awhile so I finally decided to let her be. Bad, bad move. I’d put in the audio book (which we had to switch to Voltaire’s “Candide” because 15 minutes into “The White Queen” the disc refused to work due to the numerous scratches) but had paused it when I felt the familiar drowsiness taking over. Well sometime after 3 a.m. I couldn’t take it anymore (I was reading the same sentence over and over, words swimming pathetically before my eyes) and put on the audio book again. When the disc ended, I thought about making a post so I checked my laptop for the time. It was 4:15 a.m. and I thought that instead of making a post that no one would be awake to read, I’d just pick up another, different book (as the pace of “The Winter Sea” was entirely too dreary for middle of the night reading). However, and this is where the betrayal begins, my body refused to leave the couch. When I tried to stand up, I had pains in my neck so I thought I’d just lay for a moment and read more in “The White Queen” (EDIT: “The Winter Sea” is what I was reading, I was beyond help at the point of writing this, beyond help and before coffee) and once the pains went away, I’d put in the next disc. I casually threw an empty Coke bottle in my sister’s direction with the commanding, “Wake UP, jerkface!” but as I have my contacts out, the bottle ricocheted off of the entertainment center instead. I settled in to read…

… And woke up to Fin prodding me, “It’s Sunday!”

@&^^!

Due to his excellent internal clock, he’d woken up at his regular school year rising time, 7 a.m. and came out directly, apparently glad to see us “done” with the challenge. Yeah, not so much.

After the requisite cursing and yelling, we settled back in to reading by 7:15 a.m.

So, I wasted 3 hours. I have no idea what time it was after I checked the time at 4:15, so I can’t count whatever minutes I had of reading prior to my evil body deciding to go on strike. Sadly, and once again, I failed.

Currently reading:  “The Winter Sea” by Susanna Kearsley, “Candide” by Voltaire

Books read: “Changeless”, “Blameless”, “I Am Nujood”, “Split”, “Beast”, “Three Days”, “Sirena”, “The Adoration of Jenna Fox”

Time began: 1:45 p.m. 6/3/11

Time now: 8:30 a.m. 6/5/11

Time spent reading: 36 hours, 30 minutes

Time spent blogging: 3 hours, 15 minutes

Total time spent not reading/blogging: 3 hours

