Tags

I finished “Split”. It was a fast paced read which I definitely needed to get through the night. After that I picked up “Beast” by Donna Jo Napoli and finished that just as quickly. After that was “Three Days”, also by Donna Jo Napoli (have I mentioned I like her?) which was alright but definitely not her best offering. All of those were quick reads, designed to get me through the tough night when I’m at my worst point with the fatigue.

Now, it is light outside again, and I’m feeling considerably better than I was during the night. So I’ll give a few quick reviews on the books. I’m really not up to posting on anyone’s blog as I’m barely coherent enough to finish this posting…

“Changeless” and “Blameless”: I absolutely loved these! Victorian era, steampunk, werewolves, vampires…. All in all, right up my alley. I’m highly anticipating the next in the series!!

“I Am Nujood”: Thoroughly depressing. I mean, I knew I was getting into a heavy book with the topic of it and all. But I guess I had some fairy tale ending for the little girl in my head, and let me tell you what, it does not end up that way. It is depressing, enraging, sad, and frankly it taxed me to read it. I simply can not imagine a world where, because I happened upon the fortune of not having certain body parts flapping in the wind, I am less. I just can not fathom it. It disgusts me, repels me. It pisses me off. And I’m going to leave it at that because I’m not sure how much longer I can control my natural born sailor’s mouth at this stage of sleep deprivation.

“Split”: This book centered around spousal and child abuse, more emphasis on the latter. But the characters were fake, not real, which made all the difference. Also, the story was interesting, I wanted to see where that would play out: Do the abused always become the abusers? It wasn’t a pretty fairy tale but it seemed honest. I’m going to have to tuck this one away in my memory banks, to suggest to anyone who needs to understand a teenage kid from an abusive home. It wasn’t stellar, but it seemed like it got right into the mind of the teenager and explained how all that feels.

“Beast”: I like fairy tales. I like their retellings. Thus, my recent Napoli obsession. “Beast” didn’t have the child abuse that occurred in “Hush” so the story played much lighter on my sensibilities, which I greatly appreciated after my darker choices. I’d never read the version of the tale that Napoli pulls from in her retelling so it was all new to me, and I liked it.

“Three Days”: I picked this one up because it was written by Napoli. But it wasn’t fantastic. I thought it was young adult when I ordered it but discovered when it arrived that it was middle grade. I thought I’d take a chance anyway, but yeah… It was middle grade. I haven’t appreciated many middle grade novels since long before I was a preteen myself, so this was kind of a miss for me. Had it not been whatever o’clock that it was when I put down “Beast” in my “done” pile and groggily reached for another read, I likely would have just returned it to the library unread. Don’t get me wrong, it was entertaining in a light fare kind of way, but I believe I would have enjoyed it a lot more when I was actually in the age bracket that it was intended for. Napoli is a good writer, she paints an entertaining scene, but sometimes (and this comment is not just aimed at this book but, if memory serves me correctly, every book I’ve read of hers so far) her endings fall short. It seems like she took so much care and time on the book and then she hit her page count and just rushed through the ending, leaving me unsatisfied. However, this could just be the whole, reading a genre I grew out of before I was even old enough to be in the age bracket, thing.

I tried to pick up “Cleaving”. I put it down. Fast. I believe I was still on the prologue. I’m getting a bit tired of the young adult/youth fiction after having spent most of the night on it, so now that my apartment is once again impossible to sleep in (kids are yelling quite loudly for the Husband to be putting on his quite unbelievable “still asleep” act), I’m going to pick up some more adult fare.

Currently reading: ? Making a selection after this post.

Books read: “Changeless”, “Blameless”, “I Am Nujood”, “Split”, “Beast”, “Three Days”

Time began: 1:45 p.m. 6/3/11

Time now: 10:25 a.m. 6/4/11

Time spent reading: 18 hours, 40 minutes

Time spent blogging: 2 hours

Total time spent not reading/blogging: 0

Seriously. That was really hard for me. It took me five minutes to do that math. The no sleep thing is not being any lighter on me this year, despite the fact that I don’t have a stressful job to zap up my energy stores. Maybe I should pick up another light read after all…

