Tags

, , , , , ,

It is official: I’ve decided on Belle’s birthday present.

Long ago and far away I began to try to make a decision regarding a specific doll type to focus on for Belle. As she’s our only girl chit, she tends to get extremely girly presents. However, I wanted an option that wouldn’t only be girly but could be expanded into a whole doll world where she could have any type of doll-life. As Craftster is where I go to drool over amazing talent, I obviously stopped off there first.

I saw Blythe.

And I saw Pullip.

Dals, Minis, American Girls, the list goes on and on.

I sighed a little and dreamed of the day when I’d be willing to throw over $100 at one doll, that was likely to experience an untimely death at the hands of the chits.

Unlikely.

Then the skies opened and showed me…

Poppet.

Calypso-Inspired Poppet

 

Esmeralda

Fairy Poppet

 

She-ra! She-ra!

 

Sirius Black

 

Fawn

 

Tinkerbelle

 

Ella

 

Mewtwo

 

Rhapsody

 

These aren’t even all of my favorites, there are so many options!

Poppet gave me exactly what I wanted. A doll with endless options. It is a super cute pattern and all the reviews that I’ve read say that it is relatively easy. I can see how poppets could easily take $100 to make, but I feel that would be $100 well spent. Whereas if I bought a Blythe or Pullip, I’d have to settle on only one, with Poppet, I can easily make as many as I’d like, once I figure out how to do so!

The Poppet pattern is available on ghilie’s blog Good Cookie Creations. You can also find the pattern for Punkin on the same page.

Punkin

There are many tutes on how to do the trickier parts of the Poppet.

So while looking through patterns and projects trying to get an idea of what I wanted to make for Belle for her birthday I came to the realization that nothing was what I wanted because I already knew exactly what I wanted. (How’s that for a run-on sentence?) I want to make a Poppet. They are so cute and great and I know that Belle will flip for it. Or, so I hope. I’m going to spend what looks like a LOT of time making this doll so I’m hoping that she’ll flip out.

I’ve decided to go with purple fleece (as I have some in my stash) for the body. I’m most likely making a fairy poppet but I’ve yet to make a firm decision on that. I have to order a few supplies which I’m going to express ship and then I can get started. The poppets that most catch my eye are those with multi-colored hair so that’s what I’m going with in shades of blue, pink, and purple. Possibly a bit of orange as I just can’t seem to get enough orange.

Meanwhile I’m still reading “The Constant Princess” (I don’t know where I thought I was going to get those extra hours in the day to finish the book yesterday when I’m still only in the first half) and working on completing two baby hats. Luckily I’m going to get a little break as I don’t have any birthdays/holidays that I’ll want to craft for until Easter.

