Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So 2010 has come to a close and now it is 2011. Woo-hoo! Fanfare and craziness ensues!!

Now that that’s over, back to life as we know it.

According to Shelfari, I only read 10 books in 2010. What the heck is that? I have books crammed so heavily into my three bookcases that there is spillage. Not to mention the never-ending supply of books that seems to sneak their way into my home from the library/used bookstore. So how did I manage to only read ten measly books?!?

I believe it is the allure of all the book trackers I’m currently using. As each has something different to offer, I am currently using Shelfari, LibraryThing, and Goodreads (in that order). Some books tend to get looked over and only added to one site, other books not entered at all. My first thought was to cut out one of the sites (Goodreads as I use it the least) but I decided against it. Instead, I will make a pledge to enter every book I read this year into every book tracking site I use.

As far as my reading goals for 2011:

  1. Read 60 books
  2. Read 365 books to the chits
  3. Enter all books read into LibraryThing, Shelfari, and Goodreads
  4. Join (and finish!) at least five book challenges. One will be MotherReader’s challenge, of course, but I haven’t a clue as to the others. Yet.

I’m not sure whether I’ve ever explained the term I use to refer to the kids. For some reason (long forgotten) I started calling them chitlins. When questioned about it, I claimed that they are soft, squishy, and smelly just like chitlins (if you’ve never tried them, don’t. I’ve been tricked into trying them twice in my lifetime, once as a child and once when mislead by a confusing name as a teenager). That name stuck and now I often refer to them as chitlins or simply put, chits.

So far I am on schedule. I finished reading Libyrinth (a great read, I’ve requested the second book in the trilogy and will read it soon) on January 1st and started and finished Chains on January 2nd.

My booklist for January:

  1. Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson : read
  2. Constant Princess by Phillipa Gregory
  3. Empress Orchid by Anchee Min
  4. The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner by Stephenie Meyer
  5. Garlic and Sapphires by Ruth Reichl

I own “Constant Princess” but can’t find my copy. I also own “Garlic and Sapphires” so while I wait on my library books to arrive, I’ll begin with it. I actually started it in 2010 but put it down in favor of another read. I’m in a historical fiction mood after reading “Chains” but after searching my shelves, I discovered that I don’t have much in that area at the moment. I feel a trip to the used bookstore coming on.

