Tags

, , , ,

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it but I’ve recently made the decision to train for a 5K. I’ve wanted to run a marathon for some time but getting up to that level has been pretty hard. So I decided that to aid in my training, I’ll throw in some smaller goal races along the way. The ultimate goal is to run a marathon this winter but my first goal is to do a 5K this summer.

So far I’ve been pretty good about training. I started on Tuesday with three miles. The next day I did two miles. Yesterday I went 5.23 miles! Today I intend to do three miles with at least 50% running/jogging. My legs are super sore but in that good way that you only feel from hard work. I’m giving myself three weeks to get to the point of running the whole time.

My issue has been concentration. I don’t like to run without music so I’ve been finding songs that keep me upbeat. So far my running playlist includes:

  1. Neighbors Know My Name: Trey Songz
  2. Stuck in the Moment: Justin Bieber
  3. Cherry Bomb: Dakota Fanning/Kristen Stewart
  4. Sugar: Flo Rida
  5. Replay: Iyaz
  6. Baby: Justin Bieber ft. Ludacris
  7. Blah Blah Blah: Ke$ha
  8. Tik Tok: Ke$ha
  9. Beamer Benz or Bentley: Lloyd
  10. My Chick Bad: Ludacris ft. Nicki Minaj
  11. Bad: Michael Jackson
  12. Beat It: Michael Jackson
  13. Black or White: Michael Jackson
  14. Billie Jean: Michael Jackson
  15. Rock With You: Michael Jackson
  16. The Way You Make Me Feel: Michael Jackson
  17. Party in the USA: Miley Cyrus
  18. According to You: Orianthi
  19. You Belong With Me: Taylor Swift
  20. Inkredible: Trae ft. Lil Wayne & Rick Ross
  21. Billionaire: Travis McCoy ft. Bruno Mars
  22. OMG: Usher
  23. Lil Freak: Usher ft. Nicki Minaj
  24. Bed Rock: Young Money ft Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj

This mix (on shuffle, of course) keeps me pretty upbeat throughout the course of my run. I already owned most of the songs, only had to buy a couple.

