I’ve received my last swap item (and I sent all mine out a bit after my last post)! It included three stitch markers which I adore but have no idea how to use. Just in case you are as clueless as I (was):

First off, let me admit that I usually don’t use stitch markers at all (I will, directly after this post, deliver the appropriate number of lashes for this great, shameful sin). However, the few times that I have, I’ve usually used the method described here by craftastica. Not pretty at all but hey, it gets the job done. She is definitely right that it is not an original thought (I originally learned the way from a book or blog post long forgotten) but it is a good one.

Wikipedia tells me that these stitch markers I received are definitely for knitting, not crochet. That’s totally cool with me as I’ve been thinking of picking up knitting for awhile now.

Here’s a great YouTube video on how to use stitch markers when knitting. Basically the stitch marker goes on the needle not the stitch.

And if you’re feeling especially crafty, you can make your own stitch markers as illustrated by Worm Spit.

So, I’ve got yet another reason to pick up knitting (you know, in addition to the tons of great patterns available and the fact that I’ve likely spent a cool hundred on knitting supplies that I never use).

By the way, in my search I happened upon Dollar Store Crafts which I think is a great blog for crafting on the cheap. Of course, I don’t know if I’ll actually use it as it seems to rely on having a lot of random “stuff” laying around. That’s all well and good but what happens when I don’t have old shoelaces, an empty paper towel roll, and my kids’ first baby tooth on hand, eh? Seriously, I rarely actually have all the items needed so I’d end up having to buy something that costs more than the actual craft itself is worth. But, there are a few pictures that caught my eye in her blog so I’m going to have a deeper look at it later when I get a bit more time. I like her crochet stitch markers though I’d like something a bit more fancy that I can include in swap packages.

I’m thinking that something like these beauties might be nice to include in my next swap package.

