Tags

, , ,

I didn’t read 50 books in 2009. I’m not even sure that I read more than 30. So this year I’m trying again. Right now I’m in the process of reading a few books at once.

Spoken Here : Travels Among Threatened Languages by Mark Abley

I’m only  a few pages in on this book but so far it is interesting. I’ve added three languages to my list of languages I want to learn more about (as opposed to my list of languages that I want to learn) in just about ten pages of the book. I love reading about the research of those studying and learning dying languages.

The Year of Living Biblically by A.J. Jacobs

This is one majorly hyped up book. I like the thought of religion translated into a literal sense. I’m interested to see where this book ends up. So far I’ve found that Mr. Jacobs writes honestly but not unkindly. This is a touchy subject, religion, and I’m glad to read a book that (so far) is neither preachy nor condescending.

Never Check Email in the Morning by Julie Morgenstern

I believe that one can never be too good at one’s job. I’m in the running for a promotion so it is time to brush up my skills.

I’m not going to make a list of books that I “have” to read like I did last year. Instead I’m just going to read what I feel with the goal of reading 50 books by the end of the year. Of course, I’ll be checking various book blogs for inspiration, as well as referring to my ever-growing “to read” list on Shelfari. I think I’ve got over 2,000 books on it right now. That isn’t including everything, to be certain, but it is pretty expansive.

On that same thread, I’m starting a separate Shelfari account for kid books. I’m hoping that it will make it easier to keep up with their lists this way. We’ll be reading tons of books to celebrate Black History Month which I’ll be posting here.

