Tags

, ,

Ah, books. As you all know, I love to read. I hope to pass that love on to my children. So when events like last night take place, I tend to run with it.

I’d promised the boys that I’d read them a book before bed. After the first book was over, they asked for another, and then another. I then went to the bookcase and pulled out some more library books (I’m improving my local library’s budget, book by book. I probably check out more books each week than most patrons do each month). We took a break so they could snack and I could get some water. Then we continued to read until Fin was laying against the arm of the couch, peeking from beneath his eyelashes, attempting to pretned he was still awake. Dul was still awake, but he was doing that slow blink that kids do right before they drift off. So after finishing the book I was in the middle of, I sent them to bed. All told, we read twelve books before they went to sleep last night.

I’ve been notoriously bad about keeping up with the documentation of our reading habits. Yet again I’m trying to start over, forgetting about those books already read, I’ll just jump in from here and try to keep up. But with nights like last night, I’m sure you understand how it quickly becomes overwhelming trying to keep up with the list of books we read.

So, some quick reviews…

The Boy Who Loved Words by Roni Schotter

I loved this book. The boys liked it well enough but I absolutely adored it. From the beautiful language, to the well-illustrated pages, everything about this book was bewitching. I will most definitely be buying this book for our personal shelves. It was a welcome change from Big Words for Little People which was an example of a book that wouldn’t have been published were it not for the author’s celebrity status.

A is for Africa by Ifeoma Onyefulu

The photographs in this book were nice. I liked the photographs depicted on each page. Many alphabet books rely on drawings and, while nice, it is refreshing to see photos of a place that is far away.

Little Grunt and the Big Egg by Tomie dePaola

As usual, dePaola wrote a cute book. The boys were drawn into the story, as they are with all of dePaola’s work, and I enjoyed reading it. Though it did depict people and dinosaurs living together in the same time (I’ve been trying to impress upon the boys that this didn’t happen), it was still a cute enough story that I was willing to overlook that.

The Gingerbread Cowboy by Janet Squires

A cute rendition of the Gingerbread Man, I liked this story’s spin. The drawings of the desert were soothing and I loved the mentions of animals such as javelinas and horned toads (or horny toads as they were known to me in childhood). Perhaps based mainly on the fact that it reminded me of my home, I loved this book. The story of the Gingerbread Man is generally one that bores me, having heard it, and renditions of it, repeatedly throughout my childhood. But the tilt that this story took made the tale new again. Kudos to Janet Squires for a delightfully fresh version of the little gingerbread man.

Boy, Were We Wrong About Dinosaurs by Kathleen V. Kudlinski

In this book different theories on dinosaurs are tossed about. This came at a perfect time for us. I checked the book out a bit ago but we hadn’t gotten to it yet. Today Dul asked me about dinosaurs in a conversation that started out as me telling them that dinosaurs are extinct and explaining what that meant, and ended in us talking about creationism. The end of the dinosaurs was addressed in this book, along with many of Dul’s other questions about dinosaurs. It wasn’t preachy or dry like many nonfiction picture books. Another book that I’ll add to our wishlist (or “wist”, if you will).

Zomo the Rabbit: A Trickster Tale from West Africa by Gerald McDermott

The illustrations in this book are vibrant and full of life. More than the story, we loved the pictures best of all. The story was interesting as well but the beautiful drawings are what carried the book. This book will be added to my wishlist purely for that reason.

Who’s in Rabbit’s House by Verna Aardema

I liked the way this book was illustrated as if it were a play, acted out on the pages. The story was characteristic of Aardema’s writing style which is much beloved in my family.

Why the Sun and the Moon Live in the Sky by Elphinstone Dayrell

This tale was interesting for its historic value. However, the kids didn’t enjoy the story very much.

The Village of Round and Square Houses by Ann Grifalconi

I hadn’t heard this tale from Africa before. Both the kids and I were enthralled and enraptured by the storyline. The drawings were detailed and precise, beautiful drawn. As an adult, I appreciated the thought of men and women spending their days with the same sex and then all coming together to spend the evenings and nights together. The sense of community in the fable was warming. Grifalconi spun an intricate narrative that caught us at the first alluring page and held us through the last word.

When Dinosaurs Came With Everything by Elise Broach

My boys were intruiged by the idea of a gift dinosaur with every purchase. I sympathized with the mother who decided that rather than continue her day’s errands, she’d go home to avoid getting more dinosaurs. And in the end, we all laughed with how it turned out. A very cute book that we’ll likely read again and again.

Carlo and the Really Nice Librarian by Jessica Spanyol

Dul’s favorite animals are girafees so he was delighted from first sight of the cover. A light and fluffy book, I appreciated the alligator in place of scary librarian. The kids liked the fast pace and brightly colored pages.

Dear Deer: A Book of Homophones

This book was truly an educational text written in humorous form. The boys loved each page and commanded I explain each word and its difference from its counterpart. For nonreaders and readers alike though those who are learning to read or can already do so would benefit most from its reading.

So, that’s what we read last night and how we felt about each. As always, for those that I don’t write up here, I keep a better pace with my recording keeping on my LibraryThing profile.

