Tags

, ,

Wow. First off let me say that listening to an audio book at work as opposed to listening to music makes time go much faster. Music is fun and I love to listen to it but not for my whole shift. My mind tends to wander and I get antsy and bored and turn it off. Keeping my audio book on the entire time was easy as pie. As an added bonus, I was able to politely ignore coworkers I didn’t feel like talking to as I was plainly otherwise occupied. Due to many work-related issues (my coworkers wouldn’t stop talking at break time if I paid them to… Well, maybe if the price was right.) I wasn’t able to “read” for 8 hours straight but all told I got a little over 6.5 hours in.

So, I’m at almost the end of chapter 16 of Jane Eyre, farther than I’ve been before. The narrator gave new life to the chapters I’d already read, breathing a different inflection than the one I used in my head as I read previously. The quality isn’t super great on certain chapters, my phone’s volume doesn’t go up as high as an mp3 player would, and I had to rewind a few times as I couldn’t hear bits of it. Last night made me wish I had some noise blocking headphones.

I’m going to spend the remainder of my hour of networking/blogging time to read and comment on some participating blogs and then I’ll get back to reading. I’ll have to take a break and make some coffee at some point. Maybe I’ll take a bath and listen to Jane Eyre instead of showering in silence like I normally do. I would skip it but I don’t think my coworkers would appreciate that.

This is so much fun. 🙂

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
