Tags

,

I’m reading “The Wal-Mart Effect” and I’m not sure I’m going to continue. I’ve just finished the first chapter and it seems as though it is slanted towards Wal-Mart, meaning that it is pushing outright lies. Saying things like “out of $35 of profit Wal-Mart to make $1” is a lie. I know for a fact that there are quite a few things in the store which give Wal-Mart a profit of 50 cents on the dollar. I’m pretty done with Wal-Mart propoganda which is what this book seems to be pushing. So I’m going to give it one more chapter and if it is like the first, I’m just going to stop reading. No need to waste my precious reading time on filth.

I’m also reading “Twilight”. I saw the movie which I loved and decided not to read the books until they were done making movies. I quickly decided against that and started Twilight. I promptly lost my copy and have finally started reading it again. I’d probably be more drawn in if I hadn’t seen the movie. But because I know what’s going to happen it has been slow reading.

I’ve put down “Laughing Without An Accent”. Just not in the mood for it right now. Same with “Like Water for Chocolate” and “Healthy Child Healthy World”.

It is my goal to finish “The Bilingual Edge” this week. Of course I’m not sure how I’ll be able to do that without actually picking it up and reading it as opposed to looking at it, quickly looking away, and picking up a fluffier book.

I’m reading “The Boyeln Inheritance” off and on. But the multiple same names confuse me in the storyline, more so because of my sporadic reading.

I’m also reading “A Season in Hell” upon a recommendation from one of the two coworkers I have that read more than magazines and trashy novels. (Not dissing either one of those things as I read them both.) It is pretty good and really good when I’m in an angsty mood. It is a quick read so I’ve been spreading it out.

The books that I’ve put down have been holding back my reading in that I won’t read because I don’t want to pick up the now hibernating books. So I’m just dropping them and continuing to read the books that are holding my interest. As much as I say that I’m going to stop reading books that don’t interest me, it is still hard for me to actually put a book down and say I’m not reading it anymore. So this is tough for me but it has to be done or I’m not going to meet my goal of 75 books read this year.

