Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

The 13th was our first day of homeschooling. We’re doing prehistory right now. For language arts/history/science we read:

  1. Tyson the Terrible
  2. Rotten and Rascal
  3. Dinosaur on Passover
  4. T is for Terrible
  5. Captain Flinn and the Pirate Dinosaurs

For history I read aloud the introduction to The Story of the World Volume 1: Ancient Times. I also read aloud the first page of The Concise Dinosaur Encyclopedia which focuses on the formation of Earth. Though we are spiritual and believe that G-d formed the world, I believe that the scientific version of how the world was made could be right. After all, just because G-d did it doesn’t mean that it didn’t happen that way. That could have been his way of making it. So I’m teaching the scientific formation of the world.

We’ll spend another week on dinosaurs/prehistory. Dul loves dinosaurs so I’m looking into some unit studies. I haven’t found anything that I like yet so I’m working on making one myself. I want it to run Monday through Friday next week so I’m trying to get it together this weekend. I’ve never written a unit study before so this should be interesting. Today we watched Disney’s Dinosaur on the Disney channel (good timing, Disney!) which I also dvr’d so that we can watch it again sometime next week. We have the German version somewhere, I’ll have to try to find it. Then we can do language, history, and science at the same time!

I updated our LibraryThing as I’ve decided to use it to keep track of all the book we read, not just those that we own. All in all, we had a pretty good day. When I told Fin that we were going to “do school” he was super excited and immediately bounced to the couch. We read from Story of the World first, then through five books prior to him starting to get antsy (Dul could barely sit still but I figure that he isn’t supposed to be doing first grade yet so I’ll let him have a pass). When he didn’t want to read anymore, we stopped immediately. My intention was to read the first two pages of the Dinosaur Encyclopedia but he was tired of sitting still so I let it go.

I’ll post the unit study either tomorrow or Sunday.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
