Tags

My father has always liked sci-fi (and westerns. But that isn’t the point.) That meant that over the course of my childhood I saw a lot of “future worlds”. In them the general theme seemed to be that of a paperless society. No more books in print, instead they were encased in computer files and such. I always thought that was such a shame. After all, I used to hole up in my room reading for hours and part of the reading experience for me was the feel and smell of the books. That deep, booky scent, I just loved it. Not the high gloss paper of many non-fiction books but the smell of the woody, papery novels. I would open to the middle of the book and press my nose in, inhaling the scent that took me to far away places and times. The smell of the library, pre-computer age when most people were in the library for the books, not the web, delighted my senses and sent me into a quiet thrill.

So thinking of that being taken away and replaced by cold computer files not only disappointed me, it terrified me. Thinking that when I was a “grown up” I could possibly not have access to the scent that had given me comfort, adventure, and mystery throughout my life (short though it was at the time) made my senses revolt. I didn’t even like audio books.

Needless to say, when the Kindle came out, I flat out ignored it. I refused to click on Kindle links, I skimmed blog posts where people gushed about their new Kindle acquisition. But today when  I opened Amazon.com, they had Kindle featured on the home page. There is a new Kindle coming out, a bigger one that enables one to view PDFs in their original state sans the infinite scrolling that many new devices require to view those documents. Reading about that (I’m not opposed to a device that allows me to skip carrying around sheafs of printouts) I came across the information that Kindle holds 3,500 books. In my tiny apartment I’ve two huge bookcases piled full, and books laying about in haphazard piles. Reducing clutter has always made me balk when it was suggested to get rid of books. The ones I’ve been gifted that aren’t my style and ones that I bought on a whim that weren’t more than one time reads I have no issue with ridding my life of, that just enables me to get more credit at the local used bookstore for more books. But no way am I getting rid of the books that I love and cherish.

But that set me to thinking about those books that are more of a hassle than a help. Craft books that are too heavy to lug around with the project, cookbooks that get splattered in the kitchen… I could put those on a Kindle and open up more space for delicious novels. Quickly searching for crochet books in Kindle came up with a small, sad collection which made me breathe a little easier. No need to submit to the “future world” of a bookless society just yet. However, thinking of the college classes I hope to be able to afford to attend soon led me to the sweet thought of not having to make room on my shelves for dozens of school books.

Kindles are expensive though, an expense that I can sorely afford right now. But if the Husband were to suddenly find a full-time job… A Kindle might be on my list of must-haves.

I’m sorry, libraries, I still love you. I’ll still have shelves upon shelves of books to buy from you, used bookstore. But I believe a Kindle can help simplify my life. And I just might get one. You know, in the future.

