Attempting to make these mini stockings has given me major baby fever. Crocheting little newborn baby things, having a growing belly, feeling the baby move at night when I’m on my own, the feeling after labor and birth and having a sweet newborn baby in my arms, just hanging out with the baby and getting to know the new little person in my life…

But, we are not in a place to have another baby. Never mind the fact that dh never wants to have another baby, there are so many other reasons that having another baby is not good. My career is one of them. I was on the fast track at work and I have my eye on another promotion in a year. No way that will happen if I get pregnant. Though the executives love to claim that there is no racism or sexism left in the business that I work, there is. I am careful to keep my current children’s stories out of the workplace and I create the illusion of having a smooth transition between Mama and WorkMe. If I were to get pregnant, the bigwigs at work would have to *gasp* realize that I can procreate and deduce that I *must* be inferior to those that do the impregnating.

Ok, so I’m being somewhat sarcastic but really, it is not in the interest of a promotion to get pregnant. The baby is still, well, a baby. The boys are just starting “formal” school and I’ll have to put them in activities soon. I could go on and on…

But still, trying to crochet these tiny things is really sweet…

