Tags

, , , , ,

I often get the question, “What do you do for a living?” At the grocery store, when I shop at one of my old workplaces (I spent years in retail, but that’s another story… Or rather conglomerate of times I successfully did not punch people in the face for the atrocities they committed), when I pick my kids up from school, basically whenever I enter the bubble of another human being I get asked this question.

The reply is always tough for me. What I technically do is freelance. That answer tends to confuse people or encourage conversation (both of which I try to avoid while picking up apples and bread) so all over town I’m known as a person with different professions. Running into two people I know in passing could result in an interesting conversation regarding my source(s) of income. Some people think I’m a writer, some a transcriber, others know me from my crafting. Then there’s a small subset of people who know what I truly do: wear all the hats!

Working from home, in my experience, has been a conglomerate of jobs. While I’m based mainly in those three fields, I’ve also been known to do data entry in the slow times. I almost took a phone job with a big distribution company (great company to work for but not sure about what NDA I signed so I’ll refrain from mentioning the name) until I realized at the last moment that it isn’t feasible to work for them with three hellions *ahem* children running around in the background. I’ve done marketing for people, set up websites. I know a smattering of HTML, a little CSS, and dabbled in JavaScript. Open source software has been my friend and I’m not opposed to bartering services. I suppose I really should have ‘Jack of All Trades’ listed on my business card.

However, that’s in the past. As I’ve aged (so gracefully, if I do say so myself) I’ve come to the realization that I don’t want to do it all anymore. My chits are getting older and with that comes even more time constraints. Plus, I’m a single mama now and that means that every single second of every single day counts. Continuing to attempt to run in all directions at once simply isn’t the way that I envisioned my life at this point.

So I sat down and made a list. I actually made numerous lists. I took numerous ‘what kind of cheese do you like’ (I’m lactose intolerant) and ‘when throwing your body from a plane, what color do you want your rear-saving gear to be’ (I’m afraid of heights) tests and they all pointed to one thing. I’m a writer.

Surprise, surprise, right? I’ve been a writer since before I could actually write. I remember scribbling my stories down in my own language that was influenced by Asian and ancient Egyptian writing styles when I was in elementary school. In high school I sailed through my classes (though I couldn’t be bothered to show up) based solely on my ability to write well. Yet, I never considered that as a career. Long story long, I’ve been focusing on moving the majority of my income to that field. I’ll still transcribe and craft (at least until I start seeing a few more zeros tacked on the end of my writing checks) but that’s what I’m going to do with my time.

Which is my (wordy) way of saying: I’m writing a work at home book. You’re tired of the rat race, aren’t you? That’s why you’re reading this post right now. Bosses, traffic, boring suits, all of those things can disappear forever. Working online is no longer for the lucky few. Anyone, anywhere can do it. I’m going to show you how.

So no, this post isn’t showing you how to work at home but before you click away make a note to come back this time next week when I’ll have my ebook on working at home ready and most importantly free for a short period of time.

